On a proposal by the then General Secretary Devsiri Fernando it was decided to honour members who have contributed outstandingly to the SLMC and the art of magic over a long period of time by recognising them as Honorary Life Members with special benefits. They would enjoy all rights as any other member, including the right to be elected or appointed. It was further proposed and unanimously approved that Honorary Life Members will not liable for the payment of any statutory dues in the future.

The first five members proposed and approved to this very special category are listed below. A certificate and medal awarding ceremony was conducted at the AGM held on 29th March 2015.

Lt. Col.Ronald De Alwis Lt. Col.Ronald De Alwis member since 08.01.1952.

Major. R.M. Piyatileke Major. R.M. Piyatileke member since 01.08.1961           

Shelton Jayasekera Shelton Jayasekera member since 27.04.1965                   

Haleem Ghouse member since 30.04.1966

Nihal P Werasinghe Nihal P Werasinghe member since 24.05.1969

At the Annual General Meeting held on 28.02.2016 a sixth member was given this honour.

Chandrasena Gamage Chandrasena Gamage member since  01.01.1975

On a proposal by the then Editor H.D.N. Gunesekera it was decided to honour Kalabushana, Lt.Col. Ronald De Alwis with a newly established highest title of ‘President Emeritus’ considering his lifelong contribution to the field of Magic and the Sri Lanka Magic Circle in particular. A special plaue and certificate was awarded at a ceremony conducted at the AGM held on 29th March 2015.

Commenting on the double honours received Lt.Col. Ronald De Alwis said “I was taken by surprise when an Honorary Life Membership Certificate and an impressive Medal was presented. The biggest surprise was when I was honoured as ‘President Emeritus’ and a Certificate and a very unique plaque in a presentation box was presented to me. I treasure all of this. My grateful thanks, to the SLMC Board and the members for this gesture and generosity.”


Picture shows President 2015-2016 Joy de Silva presenting the plaque to Ronald De Alwis.